I’M NO EXPERT, BUT I’VE PICKED UP ON A FEW THINGS

Since tomorrow is Julian and I’s 4 month of marriage (May 18th was the big day) I decided that a good topic for my first blog post would be what I have learned in these first few months of marriage. Believe me I have learned a lot, a ton, a bunch, you get the jist. But like the title says… I’m no expert, but I have definitely picked up on a few things.

photo

First and foremost I have learned that compromise is essential. I don’t even like the word compromise, I am stubborn as they get, seriously just ask Julian. Compromise to me means: not getting my way. Really that isn’t what compromise means, compromise is about meeting each other in the middle. I have learned (a little bit) that sometimes I just have to give in. Otherwise it would be me getting whatever I wanted all the time and Julian just sitting on the sidelines. Thank goodness I married a patient and kind man, who knows the values of compromise!

photo

The second thing I have learned is in order for a successful marriage, you have to have unconditional love. Unconditional love means exactly what it says “loving someone no matter the conditions, no matter the circumstances”. No matter what your spouse does, no matter what they say that just drives you so far up a wall you think you could push them out of a moving vehicle (surely I’m not the only one with these occasional thoughts). You have to love them, you have to forgive them, which is the third most important thing I have learned. Forgiveness. Forgiveness can be a hard one. Forgiveness is tough. Forgiveness does not come naturally to us. Forgiveness is one billion percent the number one most important attribute to have in a marriage/relationship. Without forgiveness each spouse could never move forward from the past.

Mark 11:25: And when you stand praying, if you hold anything against anyone, forgive him, so that your Father in heaven may forgive you your sins. ”

Things that I do that drive Julian nuts– When I:

  • Leave the toothpaste cap open
  • Get out of the shower soaking wet, then continue walking around the house soaking wet (I cannot help myself)
  • Am scrolling through Instagram while he is telling me a story

Things that Julian does that drives me nuts — When he:

  • Lays on my side of the bed… just don’t
  • Continuously talks when I read everynight
  • Dresses like he is going to the gym when we are going out, and I am dressed up like I am going to a dadgum 5 star restaurant

SONY DSC

Even though we both consistently challenge each other, we are each others best friends. I don’t know what I would do without my Jules, he is truly my other half.

I hope you all enjoyed my first personal blog post! Thanks for taking a minute out of your busy days. I love all of you my lovely blog readers!

Love Always – Ashley

Leave a Reply

