ROUTINES

routine

Now I’m not one of those people that have a particular routine everyday.

I am actually quite terrible at routines. Hence why I have such a problem with working out every day HA! Not that I don’t enjoy an occasional workout, I do. But the pure thought of waking up at 7 a.m. every single morning for a run sounds like torture to me.

I don’t mind doing something different every day. I enjoy spontaneity.

BUT there is one routine. One routine. A routine that when it is broken all you know what breaks lose.

That is my “prior to sleep routine”.

I don’t care what time I get to bed, whether it be 10 p.m. or 2 a.m., what I do care about is what I do right before I go to bed.

Every night when I know I am about ready for some good ol’ sleep I get in the shower. NO EXCEPTIONS. Even if I took 3 showers that day already. It doesn’t matter. I cannot sleep without taking a shower within an hour of falling asleep. I feel nasty and showering in hot water practically puts me to sleep.

As soon as I get out of the shower I have to brush my hair and put on chapstick. If I do not put on chapstick I will get no sleep. All I will think about is how dry my lips are. (A little bit obsessive – I know.)

Next I brush my teeth and drink a full glass of water. I have a serious problem people. I have to drink water more than any other human alive. I get thirsty after an hour of no water – I wish I was kidding. I would last in the desert with no water for approximately 30 minutes. Then I would feed myself to a snake or whatever else can possibly live in the desert.

Next I read out of my devotional and my Bible. Then I say my prayers. I have said my prayers every single night since I was 7 years old. And I have only missed one night. You think I’m making that up, I’m not. I remember it vividly, I woke out of my sleep and realized I fell asleep before saying my prayers, said a quick prayer and fell back asleep.

Not that I am superstitious, I just believe every day should end with a thanks to God for the day.

Then I sleep. Like a rock. Julian will try to talk to me… and five minutes later he realizes that he is talking to my pillow. It drives him nuts. He knows that if you don’t catch me in between taking my shower and reading my Bible. For – get – it.

He also has come to find out that I do not wake up for anything. I have slept through everything you could possibly imagine.

Julian will wake up at 4 a.m. to go hunting. He will turn on every light, rummage through the house, take a shower, turn on the TV, and make all the noise he pleases. I will hear nada. I will wake up at 8 a.m. and be like when the heck did Julian leave.

Sleeping through the night is a beautiful thing. There is NOTHING like a good night’s rest.

Routines. Every one has at least one.

I hope you all enjoyed today’s post and had a great Wednesday!

Love Always – Ashley

Leave a Reply

